September 2, 2006

US Scientist: “When they came for Pluto, I said nothing, because they had not yet come for me”

Posted in political satire at 5:18 am by thewashingtonbeltsider

by Tom Toburn

International astronomers have declared, under new guidelines, that Pluto is outside the realm of regular planets, and some believe Neptune may be next in line. But with Neptune’s future purportedly in doubt, many are warning about its implications for Earth’s future. “We could conceivably find our own heads figuratively on the chopping block,” National Science Foundation chair Tari Ritenour said in a written statement, also warning against hasty changes to lunar dogma that has sustained generations of human with their interplanetary brethren. “I frankly don’t know what this means for Earth’s future.”

One high level astrophysicist said, “Not to be alarmist, but to use a holocaust analogy: when they came for Pluto, I said nothing, because they had not yet come for me, and when they came for Neptune, I said nothing, because they had not yet come for me, but then they came for me.”

Leave a Reply

