August 22, 2006

Bush: “I don’t change my position based on the polls, except when Karl Rove says the poll numbers are really bad”

Posted in Bush II, political satire at 2:47 am by thewashingtonbeltsider

storybushap.jpgby Terri Firma

President Bush turned down the opportunity, at his press conference today, to comment on recent polls showing dissatisfaction with his job performance, saying they do not influence him and that he is used to not being liked.  “Lord knows I’m not the first person around who people haven’t liked.  What am I going to do?  Feel sorry for myself?  All right, what else is there?  Because I’ve tried feeling sorry for myself, but it didn’t help me with the polls.

“Anyone who’s been around here long enough knows: I don’t change my position based on the polls, except that one time when Karl Rove said the poll numbers were really bad.  Then I had to end the Dubai Ports thing, or forget all about the social security reform thing, and then, that time, do the Katrina speech, and then that Iraq speaking tour thing.  But that’s the only times that happens (sic).  Not other times.  All right?”

Leave a Reply

