June 22, 2006

Author of “cut and run” phrase to sue Congress over copyright infrigement

Posted in Congress, political satire, US News at 3:17 am by thewashingtonbeltsider

by Terri Firma

Louis Styles, the proprietor of a burger stop called “The Cut and Run,” in Temecula South Mississippi, is suing the government for copyright infringement for using the phrase repeatedly in high profile pronouncements, without attribution. “We named it after a saying we’ve used in the family, for ‘leaving something after you started’,” Styles said. “If my cut is 88 cents every time, as my attorney estimates, by my count I would be coming into a couple million dollars.”

He plans to file suit in federal court on Monday.

1 Comment »

  1. At first glance I thought “cut and run” was a crude reference to making burgers via the ol butcher knife. Hmmm. I guess thats my non-cow eating bias!

    Great digs! Keep in touch!


Leave a Reply

